SAP HANA database

SAP HANA Datenbank

With the SAP HANA database, SAP has taken up the cause of performance. This is very welcome, because in fact the long runtime was always a nuisance when using the software. It was not uncommon to have to wait minutes for more complex tasks or reports.

The SAP HANA database achieves very good performance through concepts such as in-memory computing and column-oriented storage of database tables. The SAP NetWeaver ABAP platform has been enhanced accordingly to better exploit this potential. These enhancements include the AMDP framework, which allows SQLScript procedures to be called directly from ABAP code, and Core Data Services (CDS), which can now be used to model complex views on the NetWeaver system.

In addition, Open SQL, an elementary component of the ABAP language, has been enhanced with some important features. With these resources, the classic SAP applications were also specifically optimized for SAP HANA. SAP S/4HANA and SAP BW/4HANA are two variants of the ERP system and SAP Business Warehouse (BW) that have been specially adapted for use on SAP HANA.

Articles about the SAP HANA database in our expert blog

Cloud System nicht mehr verfügbar

HANA Express images deleted in the cloud

SAP has unfortunately decided to stop making its VM images of the free HANA Express , which were previously available in the cloud from hyperscalers,…

Cheat Sheet – The SAP HANA SQLScript Overview

Cheat Sheet – The SAP HANA SQLScript Overview This SQLScript Overview is the perfect complement to the training of Brandeis Consulting Syntax, examples and descriptions,…

Why are scalar UDFs so slow?

When loading data from source systems, there are requirements in SAP BW that are often repeated at the field level. This includes, above all, logics…

What is SAP HANA?

SAP HANA is a database and application development platform. It contains many practical tools to map all possible use cases. I would like to consider these different aspects in the following.

SAP HANA – a fast SQL database

The term HANA originally stood for High Performance Analytic Appliance. This was a column-oriented relational database using in-memory technology. I will briefly describe the most important techniques that contribute to good performance below.

Column Store – Column based storing

In SAP HANA, most data is stored in the so-called column store. This means that the data of a column are stored together. Figure 1.2 shows an example of how the data in Figure 1.1 is stored column by column.

Table with sample data

Column-by-column storage in the SAP HANA database
Saving the data from the above example column by column

Many operations can be performed much faster in individual columns than in an entire table. For example, aggregate functions only require the data of a single column at a time. Another advantage of column orientation is that each column can act as an index. When selecting column values, you do not have to search the entire table, but only this one column. Memory consumption is also significantly lower with column-oriented storage because of efficient compression for each column.

Because of these advantages, SAP recommends storing tables in the column store for practically all use cases. For more information about the Column Store and Row Store storage types, see SAP Note 2222277, titled FAQ: SAP HANA Column Store and Row Store.

In-Memory

It goes without saying that a database is faster if the data does not have to be read from the hard disk first. A main memory access is about 30 to 40 times faster compared to reading an SSD disk. If the data is even in the CPU cache, this factor is about 10 times higher.

Disadvantage of in-memory technology

However, in-memory technology has two serious drawbacks:

  • The costs for main memory are considerably higher than for hard disk memory. On the one hand, this problem is mitigated by the continuously decreasing hardware prices, and on the other hand, the compression (see the following section) of the data reduces the need for main memory.
  • In the event of a power failure or hardware defect, the data is immediately deleted from the memory. Since the data is not stored in parallel on hard disk, in contrast to the in-memory approaches of other database manufacturers, a different concept is necessary. SAP uses a combination of savepoints, which regularly write the contents of main memory to disk, and the transaction log, which is written for all changing database accesses. In the event of a restart of the database, the last savepoint is loaded, and the changes thereafter are tracked from the transaction log. This ensures the persistence and consistency of the data at all times.

In-memory technology not only allows read operations to be performed more quickly because the data does not have to be copied to the main memory first. Write operations are also considerably more performant, partly because the creation of additional indexes is largely unnecessary.

Compression

The data is compressed column by column. No complex algorithms are used, as for example with the well-known Zip procedure. Instead, several simple compression types are used, each allowing very efficient packing and unpacking. The standard algorithm is dictionary compression, where each occurring value in a column is assigned a numeric key as a 4-byte integer. Only these value keys must then be stored in the column.

This already achieves good compression rates for most columns. Figure 1.3 shows an example of this procedure. Very high compression rates can be achieved, especially for columns with only a few different characteristics.

Figure 1.3: Example of dictionary compression

CPU load during packing and unpacking

The obvious disadvantage is the CPU load when packing and unpacking. There are two strategies against this:

  • The packing of the data always takes place only during the delta merge operation (described in the following section “Insert-Only”). This is done in parallel with the other insert and read operations. Thus, it does not affect the running applications.
  • Unpacking is only ever done for the columns that are actually needed. For example, for a join, only the columns relevant to the join condition are initially unpacked. This allows you to quickly determine the relevant data records for the result. Later the other columns are read in addition. These must then also be unpacked. However, this can be distributed very well on several processors in parallel. Figure 11.27 shows an example of the different database plan operators for a simple join. The plan operator JERequestedAttributes reads the corresponding attributes, which are then combined into a result row by JEAssembleResults.

For the different compression methods and even more background information on the topic, see SAP Note 2112604 titled FAQ: SAP HANA Compression.

Insert-Only

The SAP HANA database uses the insert-only approach for all changing operations. This does not mean that updating or deleting records is not possible. But the existing data sets in the main storage are not changed by write operations during operation. This memory area is optimized for read accesses and low memory consumption. Changes here would be relatively expensive.

Delta Storage

Instead, changes are written to the so-called delta storage (see Figure 1.4). This is an additional memory area optimized for write accesses. The data are available here uncompressed. New data is inserted directly into the Delta Storage. When data is deleted, it is marked as to be deleted in the main or delta storage. When changes are made to an existing record, the original record is marked as to be deleted and a new record is written to the Delta Storage.

Delta Merge

The Delta Merge operation writes the changes of the Delta Storage back to the Main Storage. Records to be deleted are removed and only one valid version per record remains in the Main Storage. The delta storage is empty after the delta merge.

The delta merge is usually triggered automatically depending on the configuration of the database. For data transfer processes (DTP) in SAP BW, an explicit delta merge can be set after execution.

Figure 1.4: Operations on Main and Delta Storage

Information about the table status

You can use the views M_CS_TABLES and M_CS_COLUMNS to display the current state of a table or its columns. Here you can see, for example, how much data is currently in the delta and main storage.

For background on the delta merge process, see the document “How To – Delta Merge for SAP HANA and SAP BW powered by SAP HANA”.

The combination of techniques

The four techniques described above complement each other perfectly and compensate for each other’s weaknesses:

  • The column-by-column storage allows for good compression of the data.
  • Compression in turn reduces memory consumption, so less main memory is needed.
  • The insert-only strategy with occasional delta merge means that the compression of the data does not affect the running applications.
  • And last but not least, a high-performance database also allows you to dispense with additional indexes, aggregates and materialized views. This reduces the main memory requirements even further.

The combination of techniques makes SAP HANA a very powerful database. They are also described in detail in the SAP Notes mentioned above and in the blog by Werner Daehn (http://s-prs.de/v620800), which is well worth reading.

This post is also available in: Deutsch

SAP HANA Datenbank

SAP HANA Datenbank

Mit der SAP HANA Datenbank hat sich SAP das Thema Performance auf die Fahnen geschrieben. Das ist sehr zu begrüßen, denn tatsächlich war die lange Laufzeit immer wieder ein Ärgernis bei der Anwendung der Software. Es war nicht unüblich, dass man für komplexere Aufgaben oder Berichte minutenlang warten musste.

Die SAP HANA Datenbank erreicht durch Konzepte wie das In-Memory-Computing und das spaltenorientierte Speichern von Datenbanktabellen eine sehr gute Performance. Die SAP-NetWeaver-ABAP-Plattform wurde entsprechend erweitert, um dieses Potential besser auszunutzen. Zu diesen Erweiterungen gehören z. B. das AMDP Framework, das einen direkten Aufruf von SQLScript-Prozeduren aus dem ABAP-Code heraus ermöglicht, und die Core Data Services (CDS), mit denen jetzt auch komplexe Views auf dem NetWeaver System modelliert werden können.

Darüber hinaus wurde Open SQL, ein elementarer Bestandteil der Sprache ABAP, um einige wichtige Features erweitert. Mit diesen Mitteln wurden die klassischen SAP-Anwendungen auch gezielt für SAP HANA optimiert. Mit SAP S/4HANA und SAP BW/4HANA sind zwei Varianten des ERP-Systems und des SAP Business Warehouses (BW) entstanden, die speziell für die Verwendung auf SAP HANA angepasst wurden.

Artikel zur SAP HANA Datenbank in unserem Experten Blog

Cloud System nicht mehr verfügbar

HANA Express Images in der Cloud gelöscht

Die SAP hat sich leider dazu entschlossen, ihre VM-Images der kostenlosen HANA Express , die bislang in der Cloud bei den Hyperscalern verfügbar waren, nicht…

Cheat Sheet – Die SQLScript Übersicht

Die Cheat Sheet ist eine große SQLScript Übersicht über die wichtigsten Grundlagen. Alles an einem Platz, mit Links zu der Referenzdokumentation.

Warum sind skalare UDFs so langsam?

Beim Laden von Daten aus Quellsystemen gibt es im SAP BW Anforderungen, die sich auf Feldebene häufig wiederholen. Dazu gehören vor allem Logiken zum Bereinigen…

Was ist SAP HANA?

SAP HANA ist eine Datenbank und eine Plattform für die Anwendungsentwicklung. Darin sind viele praktische Werkzeuge enthalten, um alle möglichen Anwendungsfälle abzubilden. Diese unterschiedlichen Aspekte möchte ich im Folgenden betrachten.

SAP HANA – eine schnelle SQL Datenbank

Der Begriff HANA stand ursprünglich für High Performance Analytic Appliance. Dabei handelte es sich um eine spaltenorientierte relationale Datenbank, die mit In-Memory-Technologie arbeitet. Die wichtigsten Techniken, die zu einer guten Performance beitragen, werde ich im Folgenden kurz beschreiben.

Column Store – Spaltenbasiertes Speichern

In SAP HANA sind die meisten Daten im sogenannten Column Store abgelegt. Das bedeutet, dass die Daten einer Spalte jeweils gemeinsam abgelegt sind. In Abbildung 2 sehen Sie ein Beispiel, wie die Daten aus Abbildung 1 spaltenweise gespeichert werden.

Abbildung 1: Tabelle mit Beispieldaten

Spaltenweise Speicherung in der SAP HANA Datenbank
Abbildung 2: Spaltenweise Speicherung der Daten aus dem obigen Beispiel

Viele Operationen lassen sich in einzelnen Spalten wesentlich schneller ausführen als in einer ganzen Tabelle. Beispielsweise benötigen Aggregatfunktionen jeweils nur die Daten einer einzelnen Spalte. Ein weiterer Vorteil der Spaltenorientierung ist, dass jede Spalte als Index fungieren kann. Bei der Selektion auf Spaltenwerte muss nicht jeweils die gesamte Tabelle durchsucht werden, sondern nur diese eine Spalte. Auch der Speicherverbrauch ist bei der spaltenorientierten Speicherung erheblich geringer, da eine effiziente Kompression für die einzelnen Spalten stattfindet.

Wegen dieser Vorteile empfiehlt SAP für praktisch alle Anwendungsfälle, die Tabellen im Column Store abzulegen. Weitere Informationen zu den Speicherarten Column Store und Row Store finden Sie im SAP-Hinweis 2222277 mit dem Titel FAQ: SAP HANA Column Store and Row Store.

In-Memory

Dass eine Datenbank schneller ist, wenn die Daten nicht erst von der Festplatte gelesen werden müssen, ist selbstverständlich. Ein Hauptspeicherzugriff ist im Vergleich zum Lesen einer SSD-Platte ca. 30- bis 40-mal schneller. Falls die Daten sogar im CPU-Cache liegen, ist dieser Faktor noch ca. 10‐mal höher.

Nachteil der In-Memory-Technik

Die In-Memory Technik hat aber zwei gravierende Nachteile:

  • Die Kosten für Hauptspeicher sind erheblich höher als für Festplattenspeicher. Dieses Problem wird einerseits durch die laufend sinkenden Hardwarepreise abgemildert, zum anderen reduziert die Kompression (siehe folgender Abschnitt) der Daten den Bedarf an Hauptspeichern.
  • Im Falle eines Stromausfalls oder Hardwaredefekts sind die Daten umgehend aus dem Speicher gelöscht. Da die Daten, im Gegensatz zu den In-Memory-Ansätzen anderer Datenbankhersteller, nicht parallel auf Festplatte gespeichert werden, ist ein anderes Konzept notwendig. SAP setzt dabei auf eine Kombination aus Savepoints, die den Inhalt des Hauptspeichers regelmäßig auf die Festplatte schreiben, und dem Transaktionslog, das für alle ändernden Datenbankzugriffe geschrieben wird. Im Falle eines Neustarts der Datenbank wird der letzte Savepoint geladen, und die Änderungen danach werden aus dem Transaktionslog nachgefahren. Somit können jederzeit die Persistenz und die Konsistenz der Daten sichergestellt werden.

Durch die In-Memory-Technik können nicht nur Leseoperationen schneller durchgeführt werden, weil die Daten nicht erst in den Hauptspeicher kopiert werden müssen. Auch die Schreiboperationen sind erheblich performanter, unter anderem auch deshalb, weil die Erstellung von zusätzlichen Indizes weitgehend überflüssig ist.

Kompression

Die Daten werden spaltenweise komprimiert. Dabei kommen keine komplexen Algorithmen, wie z. B. beim bekannten Zip-Verfahren zum Einsatz. Stattdessen werden mehrere einfache Kompressionstypen verwendet, die jeweils sehr effizientes Packen und Entpacken erlauben. Der Standardalgorithmus ist die Wörterbuch-Kompression, bei dem jedem vorkommenden Wert in einer Spalte ein numerischer Schlüssel als 4-Byte-Integer zugeordnet wird. In der Spalte müssen dann nur noch diese Wert-Schlüssel gespeichert werden.

Damit werden für die meisten Spalten bereits gute Kompressionsraten erreicht. In Abbildung 3 sehen Sie ein Beispiel für dieses Vorgehen. Gerade für Spalten mit wenigen unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen lassen sich sehr hohe Kompressionsraten erzielen.

Abbildung 3: Beispiel für die Wörterbuch-Kompression

CPU-Last beim Packen und Entpacken

Der offensichtliche Nachteil ist die CPU-Last beim Packen und Entpacken. Dagegen gibt es zwei Strategien:

  • Das Packen der Daten findet immer nur bei der Delta-Merge-Operation (beschrieben im folgenden Abschnitt »Insert-Only«) statt. Diese geschieht parallel zu den anderen Einfüge- und Leseoperationen. Damit beeinflusst sie die laufenden Anwendungen nicht.
  • Das Entpacken erfolgt immer nur für die tatsächlich benötigten Spalten. Beispielsweise werden für einen Join zunächst nur die für die Join-Bedingung relevanten Spalten entpackt. Damit lassen sich schnell die relevanten Datensätze für das Ergebnis ermitteln. Später werden die anderen Spalten dazu gelesen. Dabei müssen diese dann ebenfalls entpackt werden. Dies kann aber sehr gut auf mehreren Prozessoren parallel verteilt werden. In Abbildung 11.27 sehen Sie ein Beispiel für die unterschiedlichen Planoperatoren der Datenbank bei einem einfachen Join. Der Planoperator JERequestedAttributes liest die entsprechenden Attribute nach, die dann von JEAssembleResults zu einer Ergebniszeile zusammengefügt werden.

Die unterschiedlichen Kompressionsverfahren und noch weitere Hintergrundinformationen zu dem Thema finden Sie in SAP-Hinweis 2112604 mit dem Titel FAQ: SAP HANA Compression.

Insert-Only

Die SAP-HANA-Datenbank verwendet den Insert-Only-Ansatz für alle ändernden Operationen. Das bedeutet nicht, dass das Aktualisieren oder Löschen von Datensätzen nicht möglich wäre. Aber die bestehenden Datensätze im Main Storage werden im laufenden Betrieb durch Schreiboperationen nicht verändert. Dieser Speicherbereich ist für lesende Zugriffe und geringen Speicherverbrauch optimiert. Änderungen hier wären relativ teuer.

Delta Storage

Stattdessen werden Änderungen in den sogenannten Delta Storage geschrieben (siehe Abbildung 4). Dies ist ein zusätzlicher Speicherbereich, der für die schreibenden Zugriffe optimiert wurde. Die Daten liegen hier unkomprimiert vor. Das Einfügen neuer Daten erfolgt direkt in den Delta Storage. Beim Löschen von Daten werden diese im Main- oder Delta Storage als zu löschen markiert. Bei Änderungen eines bestehenden Datensatz wird der ursprüngliche Datensatz als zu löschen markiert und ein neuer Datensatz in den Delta Storage geschrieben.

Delta Merge

Die Delta Merge Operation schreibt die Änderungen des Delta Storage zurück in den Main Storage. Dabei werden zu löschende Datensätze entfernt und es bleibt pro Datensatz nur eine gültige Version im Main Storage übrig. Der Delta Storage ist nach dem Delta Merge leer.

Der Delta Merge wird normalerweise in Abhängigkeit der Konfiguration der Datenbank automatisch angestoßen. Bei Datentransferprozessen (DTP) in SAP BW lässt sich ein expliziter Delta Merge nach der Ausführung einstellen.

Abbildung 4: Operationen auf Main und Delta Storage

Informationen über den Tabellenzustand

Über die Views M_CS_TABLES und M_CS_COLUMNS können Sie sich den aktuellen Zustand einer Tabelle bzw. deren Spalten anzeigen lassen. Darin sehen Sie z. B., wie viele Daten gerade im Delta und Main Storage liegen.

Hintergrund zum Delta-Merge-Verfahren finden Sie in dem Dokument »How To – Delta Merge for SAP HANA and SAP BW powered by SAP HANA«.

Die Kombination der Techniken

Die vier oben beschriebenen Techniken ergänzen sich hervorragend und gleichen gegenseitig ihre Schwächen aus:

  • Die spaltenweise Speicherung ermöglicht eine gute Kompression der Daten.
  • Die Kompression reduziert wiederum den Speicherverbrauch, so dass weniger Hauptspeicher benötigt wird.
  • Die Insert-Only-Strategie mit gelegentlichem Delta Merge bewirkt, dass die Kompression der Daten die laufenden Anwendungen nicht beeinflusst.
  • Und zu guter Letzt erlaubt eine performante Datenbank auch den Verzicht auf zusätzliche Indizes, Aggregate und materialisierte Views. Damit reduziert sich der Hauptspeicherbedarf noch weiter.

Die Kombination der Techniken machen SAP HANA zu einer sehr leistungsfähigen Datenbank. Sie sind im Detail auch in den genannten SAP-Hinweisen und in dem lesenswerten Blog von Werner Daehn (http://s-prs.de/v620800) beschrieben.

This post is also available in: English